Skip to content

Just be this

September 17, 2012

While sitting this morning, I noticed my usual thoughts about the future.  The endless list of plans and modifications that will come soon to surely make my life better,  the constant putting myself in front of myself.

Then I thought: “Just do this.”  I then realized it was a variation of the Nike slogan.  It occurred to me that maybe Nike has had it wrong all along.  Perhaps it’s not about doing “it,” whatever “it” might be (usually an athletic activity that requires new shoes).  “It” feels like something that is “out there,” something in the future, something you’re resistant to but would be good for you, like learning a new language or running a marathon.

“Just do this” is a returning to what is actually happening right now.  The feeling of a body sitting in a chair.  What’s happening with my legs?  My breath?  What are the birds singing outside my window? “This” is immediate and I don’t have to go anywhere to find it.  It’s quite reliable and doesn’t require a new purchase of any kind.  It doesn’t require anything.  But “this” can easily slip away and disappear under a mountain of “its” and “shoulds” and “maybes” and “what ifs.”

Now that I’m writing this, I realize that the new slogan isn’t complete.  Why should I simply limit myself to an activity?  Why should I only “do” this?  What if I completely disappear into “this” with my whole being?  Yes, this sounds like a worthwhile intention.  I’ll have to make a bumper sticker.

Just be this.

One Comment leave one →
  1. alsn permalink
    September 21, 2012 1:39 am

    I would buy that bumper sticker!

Leave a comment